Alumni Association Special Recognition Awards

The Binghamton University Alumni Association annually recognizes alumni for their outstanding achievements and service to the University and community through our Special Recognition Awards Program. We are accepting nominations for the 2016 awards cycle; the submission deadline is Friday, Sept. 11, 2015.

Questions about our awards program should be directed to Melinda Holicky, associate director of alumni volunteer engagement, by e-mail or by calling 607-777-6206.

Alumni Connect has brief biographies of our 2015 award recipients along with videos of the award presentations and acceptance speeches.


Award Categories

The Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus/a Award recognizes and honors a graduate who has distinguished himself or herself since graduating from the University and serves as a memorial to Dr. Glenn G. Bartle, the first president of Harpur College. Nominees must have provided outstanding, exceptional voluntary service to the University as well as exhibited excellence in his or her field and/or service to society. See the eligibility criteria for this award.

The Alumni Achievement Award honors a highly distinguished alumnus or alumna who, over the course of a decade or more, has exemplified outstanding, significant professional achievement. See the eligibility criteria for this award.

The Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumnus/a Award for Public Service or Contribution to Public Affairs recognizes one alumnus or alumna each year whose life, work, career and contributions exemplify the highest standards of service and deepest dedication to the sustenance of the common good. See the eligibility criteria for this award.

The Lois B. DeFleur Distinguished Young Alumni Award recognizes alumni who graduated within the last 10 years or are 35 years of age or under, who are established or demonstrate potential to become future leaders. Nominees must have provided outstanding voluntary service to the University and/or Alumni Association as well as exhibit demonstrated leadership capability, substantial commitment to the service of others, and possess potential for leadership in the long term. See the eligibility criteria for this award.

See the list of all previous award recipients.



Last Updated: 5/12/15