New faculty members join department

Take a few moments to meet the newest faculty members of the computer science department

Yan Wang   

Yan Wang joined the Department in the Fall of 2015, after receiving his PhD in Computer Engineering from the Stevens Institute of technology.  His research work focuses on the foundations and experimental aspects of mobile and pervasive computing, smart healthcare, security and privacy, and wireless networks.  He is the recipient of a 2016 NSF CRII award.


Aravind Prakash   

Aravind Prakash receiving his PhD in Computer Science from Syracuse University.  

His research work focuses on program and software security, specifically on C++ reverse engineering, source code and binary and memory forensics.  He is the recipient of a 2016 NSF CRII award.



Mo Sha   

Mo Sha joined the Department in the Fall of 2015.  He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Washington University in St. Louis in 2014 and was a postdoctoral researcher at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado.  His research interests are in cyber-physical systems, wireless sensor networks, embedded systems, with applications to industrial process automation, smart energy, unmanned aerial vehicles, and wireless health.


 Weiying Dai  

Weiying Dai joined the Department in the Fall of 2015.  She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Pittsburgh in 2006 and was an instructor and researcher in radiology at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center & Harvard medical school before joining the Department.  Her research interests are in Brain Mapping, Biomedical Image Processing, Pulse Sequence Design and Neuroimaging, with broader interests in Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision, Information Retrieval, Software Engineering.


 Yao Liu  

Yao Liu received her Ph.D. in Computer Science in 2013 in Computer Science from the George Mason University and joined the Department from Fall 2013.  

Her interests are in Internet Mobile Streaming, Multimedia Computing, Internet Measurement and Content Delivery, and Cloud Computing.


Yifan Zhang   

Yifan Zhang joined the Computer Science Department at Binghamton University in Fall 2014. He received his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the College of William and Mary, and bachelor degree in Computer Science from Beihang University.

His general research interests are computer systems in mobile computing and wireless networks. He is a recipient of a NSF CRII award.


Guanhua Yan   

Guanhua Yan earned his Ph.D. from Dartmouth College in 2005. He joined Binghamton University from Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico, where he spent nine years, first as a Research Associate and then as a Research Scientist.

His research areas span cyber security, big data, networking, and modeling & simulation.


Steve Moore   

Steven Moore earned his BA in English in 2004 and MFA in Writing in 2007 at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks. After spending a few years teaching writing courses at UAF, he came to Binghamton University to further his education and earned a MS in Computer Science in 2012. Upon graduation, he was recruited by the Lockheed Martin Corporation into their Engineering Leadership Development Program, where he worked on many software projects. His love for teaching and programming bought him back to Binghamton in 2014 as a Web Developer and Adjunct Lecturer in Computer Science.  In Fall 2015, he became a full time lecturer in the Department.

Last Updated: 4/26/16