From the chair

Dear Colleagues, Students, Alumni and Supporters of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department:

Doug Summerville

With the start of a new year, I would like to extend thanks to all who have worked with and supported the department in 2015. Our department continues to move forward in terms of research, scholarship and, of course, educating the next generation of electrical and computer engineers.

The department began the new academic year by celebrating the accomplishments of Steve Zahorian, who stepped down as department chair after nine transformative years of service to electrical and computer engineering.

During his time as chair, the department experienced enormous development and growth: research expenditures and journal publications by faculty tripled, the number of student credit hours taught doubled, the number of enrolled students and faculty grew by a third, total office staff increased by fifty percent, and the number of teaching assistants doubled. Along with this extraordinary service, Steve was – and will remain – an active and successful teacher and researcher.

While I could list many accomplishments by our faculty and students, a few stand out.

Jessica Fridrich was named an IEEE Fellow for "contributions to digital media forensics, steganography, and steganalysis."Jessica was also promoted to the rank of Distinguished Professor. Mark Fowler was promoted to Distinguished Teaching Professor bringing the number of professors with distinguished rank in the department to three. Tara Dahkal was named the interim director of the Center for Autonomous Solar Power (CASP). Finally, David Klotzkin received the Outstanding Faculty Instructor award which, being determined by student voting, is an especially coveted honor.

Our faculty received research funding from the National Science Foundation, U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research, U.S. Navy Office of Naval Research, NYS Cyber Research Institute, NYS Energy Research and Development Authority, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Xerox Corporation, Imperial Machine and Tool Company, and Osram Sylvania Lighting Research Center, to name a few. We are humbled by the support and grateful to these fine partners. The funds will support students and allow faculty to continue to pursue academic and scientific excellence.

One of the most challenging tasks all faculty are faced with is securing external funding to support research projects. The ECE department is very proud that four assistant professors, all within their first few years of joining the department, have been awarded federal research grants. This year, Zhanpeng Jin's research on brain printing was named "one of 22 ideas that will change the world." Seokheun "Sean" Choi's origami battery design received funding from the National Science Foundation, while Matthias Kirchner received support from the organization for his camera-based mobile device end-user authentication research.

Our student enrollments are growing. We have about 350 undergraduate majors in our electrical engineering and computer engineering programs, which is 100 more than five years ago. There are about 145 students in the Master's program and our PhD enrollments have increased to 74 (from 65 last year).

I am truly looking forward to continued success and growth in electrical and computer engineering here at Binghamton. We have a strong department, brilliant faculty, dedicated students, and the support of the Watson School and Binghamton University overall.

2016 will be even better than 2015.

Wishing you health and happiness this year,





Doug Summerville, PhD
Associate Professor and Interim Department Chair
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Last Updated: 1/11/16