Faculty Areas of Affiliation and Research Clusters

Alphabetical Listing

Faculty

David Bartine
Associate Professor and Graduate Director, English Department; Critical theory, Cultural studies, Rhetorical theory,Modern poetry. x2169 dbartine@binghamton.edu

Joseph Church
Associate Professor, English Department; 19th century American literature, Literature and psychology. x2534 jchurch@binghamton.edu

Jaimee Wriston Colbert
Professor, English Department; Creative Writing, and Contemporary Literature. x6124 jcolbert@binghamton.edu

Michael Conlon
Associate Professor, English Department; Restoration and 18th-century British literature, Early modern novel, Satire, Jonathan Swift. x2646 mconlon@binghamton.edu

Marilynn Desmond
Distinguished Professor, English Department; Medieval literature, Classics and Medieval narrative, Narrative, Chaucer. x6408  mdesmon@binghamton.edu

Lois Einhorn
Professor, English Department; Rhetorical theory and criticism, Organizational communication. x6703 loiseinhorn1@gmail.com

Pamela Gay
Associate Professor of English; Associate Faculty, Creative Writing pgay@binghamton.edu

Praseeda Gopinath
Associate Professor, English Department; 20th Century British Literature. x2033 gopinath@binghamton.edu

Maria Mazziotti Gillan
Professor, English Department; Poetry, Multicultural Literature, Contemporary Women Poets, and Working Class Literature. x6134 mgillan@binghamton.edu

Thomas Glave
Professor, English Department; Creative writing: Fiction; Caribbean and African American Literature, queer/ LGBT literature.  x2894 tglave@binghamton.edu

Mary Haupt
Lecturer, English Department; Print Journalism -- reporting, editing, feature writing, opinion writing. x2248 mhaupt@binghamton.edu

John Owen Havard
Assistant Professor, English Department; 18th-Century British Literature, Romanticism, Transatlantic Studies, Literature and Politics, Critical Theory. x2754 jhavard@binghamton.edu

Scott Henkel
Assistant Professor, English Department; Literatures of the Americas; Political Movements; Globalization and Literary Theory;  x4207 shenkel@binghamton.edu

Leslie Heywood
Professor, English Department; Sports studies, 20th-century literature, Feminist and critical theory, Cultural studies, Modernism/Postmodernism, creative non-fiction, environmental studies. x2104 heywood@binghamton.edu

Olivia Holmes
Associate Professor, English and Medieval Studies; Medieval Studies, Early Modern Studies, Gender and Sexualities, Rhetorical Discourse, Italian Literature, Troubadours, Authorship, Book History;  x5400 oholmes@binghamton.edu

Joseph A. Keith
Associate Professor, English Department; Modern U.S. and British Literature, Culture of U.S. Imperialism, x2353 jkeith@binghamton.edu

Kelly Kinney
Assistant Professor and Director of Composition, English Department. x4512 kkinney@binghamton.edu

Joe Leeson-Schatz
Director of Debate, Lecturer in English debate@binghamton.edu

Aja Y. Martinez
Assistant Professor, English Department and the Writing Initiative. x6126 amartine@binghamton.edu

Monika Mehta
Associate Professor, English Department; New Media & Film Studies; Cinemas in South Asia; Postcolonial Critique; Theories of Nation-State; Globalization, Diaspora and Cultural Production; Contemporary Critical Theory; Feminist and Sexuality Studies. x2318 mmehta@binghamton.edu

Robert Micklus
Associate Professor, Chair, and Undergraduate Director, English Department; Early American literature, Southern fiction, American humor. x2758 rmicklus@binghamton.edu

Nicholas Nace
Visiting Assistant Professor, English Department; Seventeenth and Eighteenth-Century British Literature.  x5310  nnace@binghamton.edu

Jean-Pierre (Peter) Mileur
Professor, English Department; x6042 jpmileur@binghamton.edu

Richard P. Pindell
Associate Professor, English Department; The Novel, Creative writing, Southern literature. x2758  

Liz Rosenberg
Professor, English Department; Creative Writing. x2574 lrosenb@binghamton.edu

Michael D. Sharp
Lecturer, English Department; Medieval Literature. x2418 msharp@binghamton.edu

William V. Spanos
Distinguished Professor, English Department; Postmodernism, Contemporary theory, New American studies. x2743 wspanos@binghamton.edu

Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Assistant Professor, English Department; African American Literature and Culture, 19th and 20th century American Literature, American Studies, Popular Music, Sound and Audio Culture Studies, and Race and theories of Representation. x5494 jsa@binghamton.edu

Susan Strehle
Distinguished Service Professor, English Department; American literature, Contemporary fiction, Women writers. x2169 sstrehle@binghamton.edu

Albert Tricomi
Distinguished Teaching Professor, English Department; Renaissance drama, New historicism, Shakespeare. x6403 atricomi@binghamton.edu

Elizabeth Tucker
Professor, English Department; Folklore, Fantasy. x4455 ltucker@binghamton.edu

John Vernon
Distinguished Professor, English Department; Modern literature, Creative Writing, Literature of the American West. x2750 fac026@binghamton.edu

Alvin Vos
Associate Professor and Master of Hinman College; Renaissance literature and culture, Shakespeare, Colonial/Post-colonial studies. x4716 avos@binghamton.edu

Andrew Walkling
Dean's Assistant Professor of Early Modern Studies, English, Theatre, and Art History. x5251 walkling@binghamton.edu

Joseph Weil
Assistant Professor, English Department
x3367  jweil@binghamton.edu

Gayle Whittier
Associate Professor, English Department; Creative Writing, Shakespeare, Selected aspects of modern literature. x2749

Lisa Yun
Associate Professor, English Department; Asian American literature, Asian diasporic studies, Comparative Ethnic Studies, creative writing, postcolonial literature, theory. x6405 lisayun@binghamton.edu

Alexi Zentner
Assistant Professor, English Department; Creative Writing. azentner@binghamton.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Martin Bidney
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1971, Indiana Univeristy: 19th-century English literature, Russian literature, Blake. mbidney@binghamton.edu

Norman T. Burns
Associate Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1967, University of Michigan: Renaissance literature, Milton, social and intellectual history.

Charles A. Carpenter
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1963, Cornell University: Modern Dramatic Literature ccarpen@binghamton.edu

Mario Di Cesare
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1960, Columbia University: Renaissance literature (European and English), epic poetry, 17th-century literature, Milton.

Vincent Freimarck
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1950, Cornell University: American literature, 18th-century literature.

Rosalind Gabin
Associate Professor Emerita, PhD, 1961, University of California at Berkeley: Romance literature, rhetoric.

John H. Hagan
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1957, University of Chicago: 19th--century novel (English, American and continental), some 20th-century novelists.

Elizabeth K. Hewitt
Associate Professor Emerita, PhD, 1969, State University of New York at Buffalo: Stylistics, modern poetry, modern literature, language.

Bernard Levy
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1961, University of California at Berkeley: Chaucer, Middle English literature, medieval literature, editor of Mediaevalia.

Richard McLain
Associate Professor Emeritus, English language, Linguistics, Literary criticism, Modern literature. x4714 rmclain@binghamton.edu

Francis X. Newman
Associate Professor Emeritus, Medieval literature. x2586 fnewman@binghamton.edu

Wilhelm F. Nicolaisen
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, DPhil, 1955, University of Tübingen: Language, folklore, names.

Bernard Rosenthal
Professor, English Department; Colonial and 19C American literature. x2353 brosenth@binghamton.edu

Elias Schwartz
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1954, Stanford University: Criticism, Shakespeare, the English lyric.

Melvin Seiden
Professor Emeritus PhD, 1956, University of Minnesota: Renaissance drama, criticism, the novel.

Ruth Stone
Professor Emerita, BA, Harvard University: Creative writing.

Barry Targan
Professor Emeritus PhD, 1962, Brandeis University: British and American literature, creative writing.

Eugene Vasilew
Associate Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1955, Ohio State University: Rhetoric, communications, speech.

John D. Walker
Associate Professor Emeritus PhD, 1967, University of Florida: 18th-century English literature, Restoration literature.

Grant Webster
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1963, Ohio State University:18th Century English Literature, Landscape and Literature, Literature of the English Country House, Caricatures, Prints, and Book Illustration. x2352 webster@binghamton.edu

Faculty Listing by Areas of Affiliation and Research Clusters 

American Studies

Scott Henkel
Joseph Keith
Robert Micklus
William Spanos
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Susan Strehle
Elizabeth Tucker
Lisa Yun

British Modernities

Melissa Free
Praseeda Gopinath

Critical Theory

David Bartine
Joseph Church
Scott Henkel
Olivia Holmes
Joseph Keith
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
William Spanos
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman

Gender and Sexualities

Marilynn Desmond
Melissa Free
Praseeda Gopinath
Thomas Glave
Leslie Heywood
Olivia Holmes
Kelly Kinney
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Susan Strehle

Ethnic Studies

Thomas Glave
Scott Henkel
Joseph Keith
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Susan Strehle
Lisa Yun

Cultural Studies/Science Studies

David Bartine
Marilynn Desmond
Pamela Gay
Praseeda Gopinath
Leslie Heywood
Kelly Kinney
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Elizabeth Tucker
Gayle Whittier

Medieval Studies

Visit the Early Modern and Renaissance Studies website.

Marilynn Desmond
Olivia Holmes
Michael Sharp

Early Modern and Renaissance Studies

Visit the Early Modern and Renaissance Studies website.

Olivia Holmes
Michael Sharp
Al Vos
Andrew Walkling
Gayle Whittier

Postcolonial Studies

Melissa Free
Thomas Glave
Praseeda Gopinath
Joseph Keith
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
Susan Strehle
Lisa Yun

Race, Empire, and Global Diasporas

Melissa Free
Thomas Glave
Praseeda Gopinath
Scott Henkel
Aja Y. Martinez
Monika Mehta
Jennifer Stoever-Ackerman
Susan Strehle
Lisa Yun

Rhetorical Discourse

David Bartine
Lois Einhorn
Pamela Gay
Olivia Holmes
Kelly Kinney
Aja Y. Martinez

Creative Writing

Visit the Creative Writing website.

Pamela Gay
Maria Gillan
Thomas Glave
Leslie Heywood
Liz Rosenberg
Jack Vernon
Gayle Whittier
Jaimee Wriston-Colbert
Alexi Zentner

 

Last Updated: 7/25/14