BINGHAMTON UNIVERSITY

THE GRADUATE COUNCIL- MEETING MINUTES

September 27, 2021

3:30pm - 5:00pm

PLACE: Zoom

PRESIDING: Gretchen Mahler, Interim Dean of the Graduate School

MEMBERS: Christopher Bartlette, Grace Babalola, Jeremy Blackburn, Scott Craver, Danielle

Dunne, Rory Eckardt, Ann Fronczek, Jeroen Gerrits, Yetrib Hathout, Kristina Lambright, Les Lander, Patrick Madden, Loretta Mason-Williams, Erin E. Mccurdy (rep. GSO President), Andreas Pape, Thomas Powell, Joshua Reno, Nicole Rouhana, Julia Rumsey, Ana Sanchez-Bachman, Hiroki Sayama, Chenqing

Song, David Werner, Bogum Yoon

EX OFFICIO

MEMBERS: Niyazi Bodur, Junghyun Cho, Michael Jacobson, Carl Lipo,

Kanneboyina Nagaraju, Gale Spencer, Ellen Tilden

EXCUSED/ABSENT: James Galbraith, Nathan Tumey, Christopher Wright (GSO President)

I. CALL TO ORDER:

Dean Mahler called the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m.

II. Graduate School Location and Staffing

Dean Mahler announced the new location of the Graduate School located in the Couper Administration Building, first floor in room 108. The new graduate school email is graduate@binghamton.edu and the phone number is 777-2077. These updates have been included on our webpage. She noted a few staffing changes, Kellie Hovancik has accepted a new position in the Provost office, this will be her last week in the graduate school. Andreas Pape has accepted the Associate Dean position in the Graduate School. His first day will be October 1 and will be located in AD-111.

III. Introduction to Graduate Council and Graduate Council Sub-Committees

Dean Mahler welcomed new and returning members to the council. This being the first council meeting of the Academic year, Dean Mahler presented an overview of the Graduate Council, including purpose, function, and committee's responsibilities. She provided a brief description of the revised bylaws and

noted that the presentation can be located on the google shared drive as well as additional meeting

materials.

Dean Mahler provided a summary of each Graduate Council sub-committees responsibilities for;

Academic Standards Committee, Graduate Budget Advisory Committee/Grievance Committee,

Strategic Planning Committee, Professional Development Committee, and Diversity Committee. Each

sub-committee will meet monthly during the academic year. Lastly, Dean Mahler shared the proposed

membership of each committee and the proposed meeting calendar. Dean Mahler was present to

answer questions.

IV. New Business:

Dean Mahler noted that today is the deadline for graduate students to upload their vaccine cards or to

declare themselves as fully remote. If this is not completed by today their registration is dropped. Ellen

Tilden noted that the final list of Graduate students who have not completed this requirement will be

available tomorrow. No further new business was discussed.

V. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:04 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Kellie Hovancik,

Administrative Assistant to the Dean of the Graduate School

2