## **BINGHAMTON UNIVERSITY**

#### THE GRADUATE COUNCIL- MEETING MINUTES

October 25, 2021

3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

**PLACE:** Zoom / Couper Administration, AD-148

**PRESIDING:** Gretchen Mahler, Interim Dean of the Graduate School

MEMBERS: Christopher Bartlette, Grace Babalola, Jeremy Blackburn, Scott Craver, Danielle

Dunne, Rory Eckardt, Ann Fronczek, Jeroen Gerrits, Yetrib Hathout, Kristina Lambright, Les Lander, Patrick Madden, Loretta Mason-Williams, Erin E. Mccurdy (rep. GSO President), Andreas Pape, Thomas Powell, Joshua Reno, Nicole Rouhana, Julia Rumsey, Ana Sanchez-Bachman, Hiroki Sayama, Chenging

Song, Nathan Tumey, David Werner, Bogum Yoon

**EX OFFICIO** 

**MEMBERS:** Junghyun Cho, Michael Jacobson, Carl Lipo, Gale Spencer,

**EXCUSED/ABSENT:** Niyazi Bodur, James Galbraith, Kanneboyina Nagaraju, Christopher Wright (GSO

President)

### I. CALL TO ORDER:

Dean Mahler called the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m.

#### II. Minutes from the September 27, 2021 meeting

The minutes from the September 27, 2021 meeting were approved as written.

#### III. Committees:

Academic Standards Committee – This committee met on October 4, 2021. Andreas Pape discussed that the committee looked at the policy regarding non-tenure-track faculty serving as the chair for master's thesis committees or for clinical doctorates. The committee is drafting up a new policy. He also noted, non-tenured track faculty members can currently serve on the committee with approval by Andreas but not as chairs. This proposal would provide a more in-depth review of non-tenure track faculty who can serve in this capacity. This proposal would also be reviewed by the academic standards

committee and allowed for 3 years. Andreas noted that the proposal is still being worked on and he will share it with the committee at a later date.

In addition, Andreas Pape noted that the committee is working on a mission statement for the Graduate School.

**Diversity Committee** – This committee met on October 18, 2021. Andreas Pape noted that one of the committee's main focus is reviewing Clark applications. He noted that Justin Pierce showed the committee the Slate process for reviewing applications.

Professional Development Committee - This committee met on October 20, 2021. Andreas Pape discussed the creation of two proposals for the following working groups; Coding and Programming and Graduate Writing Support Group for Graduate Students. He provided a summary of the output, charge, and timeframe of the Coding and Programming working group proposal. The committee shared some feedback and suggestions. Andreas noted that the Coding and Programming working group would consist of 4 to 6 members. Andreas was present to answer questions. After further discussion, the committee approved and accepted the proposal for the Coding and Programming workgroup. Andreas then asked the committee for volunteers to serve in the working group. Hiroki Sayama, Patrick Madden, Jeremy Blackburn, Jeroen Gerrits, and Loretta Mason-Williams offered to volunteer. Andreas then discussed the second proposal for the Graduate Writing Support group. He provided a summary of the output, charge, and timeframe of this working group. Andreas noted that this group would also consist of 4 to 6 members. The committee brought forth some concerns and suggestions, some of which included access to exit surveys and focus groups with Alumni. Dean Mahler noted that she would provide alumni survey results to the committee. Andreas and Dean Mahler were present to answer questions. Andreas then asked the committee for a motion to approve the Graduate writing group proposal. The proposal for the Graduate Writing Support Group was approved. Andreas will send out an email to request volunteers for this working group.

Student Affairs/Budget Advisory Committee - This committee has not met.

#### IV. New Business:

Dean Mahler reminded the committee of the following important dates/deadlines for fall 2021.

- November 5, 2021- Due date for Excellence Award and Travel Award nomination submissions.
- November 15, 2021- Due date for Clark Fellowship Award nomination submissions.
- December 15, 2021- Due date for Thesis and Dissertation submissions.

# V. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:32 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Kellie Hovancik Administrative Coordinator, Provost Office