BINGHAMTON UNIVERSITY

THE GRADUATE COUNCIL MEETING

via zoom

February 26, 2024 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

MINUTES

PRESIDING: Gretchen Mahler, Interim Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

STAFF: Andreas Pape, Ellen Tilden, Ann Marie Kellogg (recorder)

MEMBERS: Seden Akcinaroglu, Weixing Zhu, Nicole Rouhana, Hiroki Sayama, Guy

German, Melissa Hardesty, Tony Davis, Yvonne Johnston, Pegor Aynajian, Norah Henry, John Kuhn, Brad Cannon, Sharon Bryant, Vladimir Nikulin, Loretta

Mason-Williams, Tao Zhang

EX OFFICIO

MEMBERS: Junghyun Cho, Judith DeLuca, Jillian Sandy

EXCUSED/ABSENT: Sungdai Cho, Praseeda Gopinath, Steven Schwartz, Kyoung-Don Kang, Sarah

Young, Harshitha Gurram (GSO President), Jovial Alex, Jenna Buquicchio, Harshitha Gurram, Summer Farriss, Michael Jacobson, Carl Lipo, Kristina

Marty, Pamela Steward Fahs, Niyazi Bodur,

Call to Order:

Dean Mahler called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.

1. Minutes from the November 23, 2023 meeting

Hiroki Sayama made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting on November 23, 2023. Junghyun Cho seconded the motion. All were in favor and none were opposed. The minutes were approved as written.

2. Committees

- Academic Standards Committee This committee met on February 5, 2024
 - Proposed: Approving Matthew V. Emery for 3 years to serve as a member or chair on Masters Committees. A vote was opened to the committee regarding the proposition and was unanimously approved.
 - Proposed policy change: For non-TT faculty to be able to serve on Doctoral committees for a 3-year window, on a case-by-case approval. Changes to the policy were discussed. A few minor grammatical changes were recommended. A motion to accept the policy with the noted changes was made by Hiroki Sayama and seconded by Yvonne Johnston.

All were in favor and none were opposed. The policy was approved with the minor changes recommended.

Diversity Committee – This committee met on February 21, 2024

- The committee reviewed 9 Clark applicants for the first round. The committee expects to be able to fund 8 new Clark applications for the fall, possibly more. There are two rounds of Clark submissions. The first deadline for nominations was February 1. The second deadline for nonimations is March 1. Five applications were moved forward for approval by the Diversity Committee. The remaining 3 will be re-reviewed in round two. If a Clark award is offered but turned down, it can be re-awarded to a new student.
- > The recent Supreme Court ruling regarding race-based admissions has impacted the Clark Fellowship policy. Legal counsel advised removing the list of criteria for Clark fellow nominations from the website. A more thorough review of the Clark criteria will happen this spring, and edits will be made to the application for next year.
- In furtherance to concerns regarding disbursement of funds that may be impacted by the Supreme Court decision, members of the Graduate School met with staff from the Binghamton Fund, who assured them the awards would continue to be used as designated by the donors as long as legally compliant.
- Professional Development Committee This committee did not meet
- Student Affairs/Budget Advisory Committee This committee did not meet

3. New Business

Dean Mahler introduced Ann Marie Kellogg, the new administrative assistant in the Graduate School. She replaced Nicole Smith, who accepted a position in the Decker College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Adjournment:

A motion was made by Yvonne Johnston and seconded by Hiroki Sayama to adjourn the meeting. All were in favor and none were opposed. The meeting was adjourned at 4:03 p.m.

Ann Marie Kellogg, Administrative Assistant (Recorder)