Meeting Minutes

January 25, 2017


  • Terry Kane

  • Pat Elliott

  • Dave Egan

  • Mike Lewis

  • Joanne Fiori-Conte

  • David Warner

  • Shelley Dionne

  • Matthew McConn

  • Nadine Mastroleo

  • Lina Begdache

  • Nick Liegi

  • Henry Weilbacher

  • Cindy Shi

  • Cole Carpenter

  • Kevin Darrel

  • Don Paukett.

Meeting was called to order at 4:05 pm. Each member of the board made introductions. Mr. Kane asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the previous meeting. The meeting minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Mr. Kane asked Dave Eagan to provide a report on fall 2016 academics in the athletics department. Dave Eagan presented his report. Student athletes have an overall GPA above 3.0. Men’s basketball, wrestling and woman’s basketball are identified as areas where improvement is desired.

At our fall meeting we learned that the athletics department works from a budget of approximately $15 million. The State of New York currently provides approximately $4 million with the remainder being made up with commission revenues, fund raising and student fees. NYSUNY 2020 raised tuition and related scholarship costs over the past 5 years. Combined with institutional overhead increases this caused a budgetary structural imbalance of about 3 %. Mr. Kane asked AD Elliott to provide an updated report on student fees and athletics finances.

Don Paukett presented a breakdown of the athletic department’s current expenses and a four-year plan that would narrow the gap of operating losses for three years before the athletic department would break even. Supporting documents are attached. AD Elliott provided an Athletic Fee Proposal that is attached that reflected Mr. Paukett’s presentation.

Shelley Dionne made a motion to accept AD Elliott’s four year proposal with the prevision that we examine the budget annually and evaluate the impact of the proposed increases. The motion was seconded by Mike Lewis. There was extensive discussion before the motion was voted on. The vote resulted in a unanimous decision in favor of the motion.

There were no new items to discuss.

Shelley Dionne motioned for adjournment, seconded by Mike Lewis. The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 pm.

Last Updated: 2/21/17