Binghamton University to hold Commencement ceremonies, May 17-19


BINGHAMTON, NY -- Binghamton University will confer more than 3,000 degrees for bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral candidates during Commencement ceremonies to be held May 17-19.

The University is introducing a new model for Commencement this spring, with each school and college, as well as the three divisions of Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, holding its own ceremony. Honorary doctorates and doctoral degrees will be awarded during the first-ever Doctoral Hooding Ceremony, at 3 p.m. Friday, May 17, in the Events Center.

Honorary doctorates will be awarded to pioneering pilot, educator and philanthropist Marilyn C. Link; scientist and inventor Voya Markovich; preeminent social worker and champion of the homeless Nancy Wackstein; and scientist and scholar George Whitesides.

The 2013 Commencement ceremonies schedule: 

All of the following ceremonies will be held in the Binghamton University Events Center:

Friday, May 17
3 p.m. Doctoral Hooding Ceremony            

Saturday, May 18
8:30 a.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Science and Math Division
Student speaker: Danielle Leavy
Alumni award recipient remarks: Lisa Benson, MS, BS ’81, MA ’83, and Lee Guterman, MD, PhD, BS ’81, MA ’83

12 p.m. College of Community and Public Affairs
Honorary degree recipient remarks: Nancy Wackstein, BA ’73

2:30 p.m. Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science
Student speakers: Victoria Tagarelli, undergraduate student, and Lauren Huie, graduate student

6:00 p.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Fine Arts and Humanities Division
Student speaker: Jessie Rubin
Alumni award recipient remarks: Ruben Santiago-Hudson, BA ’78

Sunday, May 19
8:30 a.m. School of Management
Student speakers: Jeffrey Marks, undergraduate student, and Kaitlyn Orr, graduate student
Alumni award recipient remarks: John Lyons, BS ’94

12 p.m. Decker School of Nursing
Student speakers: Taryn Lindquist, undergraduate student, and Tim Leonard, graduate student

2:30 p.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Student speaker: Leonard Simmons
Alumni award recipient remarks: Linda Riefberg, BA ’81

The Educational Opportunity Program will recognize its graduates in Watters Theater of the Fine Arts Building from 3-5 p.m. Friday, May 17; and all residential communities will hold recognition ceremonies from 5-7 p.m. Friday, May 17, in their communities.

Last Updated: 9/17/13