Binghamton University to hold Commencement ceremonies May 15-17


Binghamton University will confer more than 3,400 degrees for bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral candidates during Commencement 2015 ceremonies to be held May 15-17 at the Events Center, on campus.

Nearly 2,600 of the degrees awarded will be baccalaureate degrees, with close to 750 master’s candidates expected to cross the stage. Eighty-eight doctoral candidates will be hooded.

Each school and college, as well as the three divisions of Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, will hold its own ceremony. For the first time, master’s candidates will be recognized at the Graduate School ceremony, when doctoral candidates will also be hooded.

Honorary doctorates will be awarded at the Graduate School ceremony to educator Horace Wood Gibson Jr., philosopher Jason Randolph Stanley and Tien Wu, a leading global thinker in the semiconductor arena.

The University Medal, the highest honor bestowed by Binghamton University, will be awarded to Samsung Techwin Co., Ltd. president and CEO Cheolkyo Kim at the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science ceremony at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, May 16.

The 2015 Commencement ceremonies schedule:

All ceremonies will be held in the Events Center on campus.

Friday, May 15
3:30 p.m. - Graduate School
Student speaker: Jacob Dorfman

Saturday, May 16
8:30 a.m. - Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science
Student speakers: Donald Greenberg and Adam Lemma

Noon - College of Community and Public Affairs
Student speaker: Jeffrey Adams

3 p.m. - Decker School of Nursing
Student speakers: Thomas Clark and Katherine (Kat) Kaplan

6 p.m. - School of Management
Student speakers: Henry Aery and Shavonna Hinton

Alumni award recipient remarks: Howard Unger ’82, founding partner of Saw Mill Capital LLC

Sunday, May 17

8:30 a.m. - Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Student speaker: Stephon Braithwaite-Martin 
Alumni award recipient remarks: Salvatore Caruana ’73, founder and CEO of Foster Capital Corporation

Noon - Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Fine Arts and Humanities Division
Student speaker: Christopher Zamlout
Alumni award recipient remarks: Stephanie Courtney ’92, actress and improviser known for playing "Flo" in the Progressive commercials

3:30 p.m. - Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Science and Math Division
Student speaker: Jared Gordon
Alumni award recipient remarks: Yasmin Hurd ’82, professor of psychiatry, neuroscience, and pharmacology and systems therapeutics, as well as the Ward-Coleman Chair in Translational Neuroscience and director of the Center for Addictive Disorders at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

The Educational Opportunity Program will recognize its graduates in Watters Theater in the Fine Arts Building at 3:30 p.m. Friday, May 15; and all residential communities will hold recognition ceremonies from 5-7 p.m. Friday, May 15, in their communities.


Last Updated: 9/17/13