Philosophy Department Faculty and Staff

Staff

Joy Tassey
Administrative Assistant
jtassey@binghamton.edu

Rachel Crisman
Secretary
rcrisman@binghamton.edu

Faculty

Jeffner Allen

 Jeffner Allen
 
Professor of Philosophy, Africana Studies, Philosophy, Interpretation, Culture (PIC), and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies. Affiliated Faculty, Asian and Asian American Studies, Center for Korean Studies, Philosophy, Literature, Culture (PLC)

PhD Philosophy, Duquesne University, 1973

Office: LT 1304
jeffn@binghamton.edu

Research
Cultural Imaginaries and Representation, Trans-Genre Writing, Feminist and Lesbian Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Diasporic Literatures, Water and Environmental Studies, Transdisciplinary Studies, Multi-Platform Works, 20th and 21st Century European Philosophy

Curriculum vitae


Bat-Ami Bar On

Bat-Ami Bar On
 
Professor of Philosophy and of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Director, Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities

Office: LT 1202
ami@binghamton.edu
Website

Research
Social and political theory


Eric Dietrich

Eric Dietrich

 

Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, University of Arizona, 1986

Office: TU 10G
dietrich@binghamton.edu
Website

Research
Epistemology, Relativism, Metaphysics, Paraconsistent Logics, Philosophy of Mind

Curriculum vitae


Charles Goodman

Charles Goodman
 
Associate Professor, Philosophy and AAAS
PhD Philosophy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2002

Office: LT 1214
cgoodman@binghamton.edu
Website

Research
Asian Philosophy, Comparative Ethics, Metaphysics

Curriculum vitae


Robert Guay

 Robert Guay
 

Associate Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, University of Chicago, 2000

Office: LT 1216
rguay@binghamton.edu
Website

Research
Continental Philosophy (especially Kant and the nineteenth century), Moral and Political Philosophy, History of Ethics, Philosophy of Art

Curriculum vitae


Nicole Hassoun

  Nicole Hassoun
 

Associate Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, University of Arizona, 2007

Office: LT 1203
nhassoun@binghamton.edu
Website

Research
Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics


 Mattias Iser

Mattias Iser

Associate Professor of Philosophy

PhD, Freie Universität Berlin, 2005

Office: LT 1213
iser@binghamton.edu
Website

Curriculum vitae




Anja Karnein

 Anja Karnein
 

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director of Graduate Studies, Philosophy Department

PhD Philosophy, Brandeis University, 2005

Office: LT 1204
akarnein@binghamton.edu

Curriculum vitae


Christopher Morgan-Knapp

  Christopher Morgan-Knapp

 

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Department Chair

PhD Philosophy, Rutgers University, 2001

Office: LT 1208
Phone: 607-777-4163
c.morgan-knapp@binghamton.edu

Research
Ethics, Environmental Ethics

Curriculum vitae


Max Pensky

Max Pensky

 

Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, Boston College, 1989

Office: LT 1211
mpensky@binghamton.edu

Research
Modern and Contemporary Social and Political Philosophy, Critical Theory, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Philosophy of Law and International Relations

Curriculum vitae


Anthony Preus

 Anthony Preus

 

Distinguished Teaching Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, Johns Hopkins, 1968

Office: LT 1209
Phone: 607-777-2886
apreus@binghamton.edu

Research
Ancient Greek Philosophy

Curriculum vitae


Anthony Reeves

 Anthony Reeves

 

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director, Program in Philosophy, Politics and Law

PhD Philosophy, Boston University, 2009

Office: LT 1217
areeves@binghamton.edu

Website

Research
Philosophy of Law, Political Philosophy, Normative Ethics

Curriculum vitae


Lisa Tessman

 Lisa Tessman

 

Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1996

Office: Library Tower 1215
ltessman@binghamton.edu

Website

Research
Ethics (esp. Virtue Ethics, Moral Dilemmas, Moral Psychology, Feminist Ethics and Social Theory)

Curriculum vitae


Melissa Zinkin

Melissa Zinkin

 

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Undergraduate Director, Philosophy Department

PhD Philosophy, Northwestern University, 1999

Office: LT 1212
mzinkin@binghamton.edu

Research
AOS: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy. Philosophy of Art
AOC: Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist theory

Curriculum vitae

Last Updated: 4/3/17