Research themes

Electrical Engineering

Research topics in electrical engineering include:

Mechanical Engineering

Research topics in mechanical engineering include:

Physics

Research topics in physics include:

Chemistry

Research topics in chemistry include:


Research Advisors (By Department)

Electrical Engineering

David Klotzin

Photograph of David Klotzin.

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 607-777-4813
Email: klotzkin@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 2319
Website: David Klotzkin Website

 

Stephen Zahorian

Photograph of Stephen Zahorian.

Professor & Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 607-777-4846
Email: zahorian@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 2312
Website: Stephen Zahorian Website

 

Alok Rastogi

Photograph of Alok Rastogi.

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 607-777-4854
Email: arastogi@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 2322
Website: Alok Rastogi Website

 


Mechanical Engineering

Peter Huang

Photograph of Peter Huang.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 607-777-4620
Email: phuang@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 2322
Website: Peter Huang Website

 

Ron Miles

Photograph of Ron Miles.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 607-777-6204
Email: miles@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 1309
Website: Ron Miles Website

 

Mohammad Younis

Photograph of Mohammad Younis.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 607-777-4983
Email: myounis@binghamton.edu
Office: ES 1316
Website: Mohammad Younis Website

 


Physics

Dr. Eric Cotts

Photograph of Eric Cotts.

Professor & Chair, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-4371
Email: ecotts@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 508
Website: Eric Cotts Website

Our laboratory studies atomic transport and mass transfer in thin film metal systems and in liquid systems, with particular emphasis on materials for electronics packaging. We use calorimetry to directly monitor the rate of solid state and liquid/solid reactions in thin film systems. Such calorimetric measurements of enthalpy release, along with standard heat capacity studies, provide determinations of thermodynamic functions as a function of temperature. Our goal is to understand and to model the basic mechanisms of these thermal processes.

Dr. Joon Jang

Photograph of Joon Jang.

Professor, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-4279
Email: jjoon@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 259
Website: Joon Jang Website

Our laboratory studies the optical and electronic properties of semiconductors, including quantum structures, plasmonic structures, and dilute magnetic semiconductors.We also look at excitonic matter in condensed matter systems and excitonic Bose-Einstein condensation and Nonlinear optical responses from novel materials, polymers, and photonic crystals.

Michael Lawler

Photograph of Michael Lawler.

Professor, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-4331
Email: michael.lawler@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 258
Website: Michael Lawler Website

 

Steve Levy

Photograph of Steve Levy.

Professor, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-3066
Email: slevy@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 259
Website: Steve Levy Website

 

Louis Piper

Photograph of Louis Piper.

Professor, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-3086
Email: lpiper@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 262
Website: Louis Piper Website

 

Bruce White

Photograph of Bruce White.

Professor, Physics Department
Phone: 607-777-4279
Email: bwhite@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 259
Website: Bruce White Website

 


Chemistry

Dr. Wayne E. Jones, Jr.

Photograph of Wayne Jones.

Professor & Chair, Department of Chemistry
Phone: 607-777-2421
Email: wjones@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 609
Website: Wayne Jones Website

Our research group's interests involve the study of photo-induced electron and energy transfer processes in inorganic and polymer systems. By combining novel synthetic strategies with modern electrochemical and spectroscopic techniques, we gain a better understanding of fundamental processes which occur in all of chemistry including electron transfer, energy transfer, excited state reactivity, and materials design at a molecular level. The focus of our efforts is the design and study of molecular wires and devices. These nanomaterials provide a foundation for fundamental investigations as well as opportunities for new applied technologies. The projects briefly outlined below fall into three areas under the theme of molecular wires and are supported by grants from NIH, NSF, SRC, NIST, New York State Center for Advanced Technology (IEEC), and industrial partners.

Nik Dimitrov

Photograph of Nik Dimitrov.

Professor, Department of Chemistry
Phone: 607-777-4271
Email: dimitrov@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 G37
Website: Nik Dimitrov Website

 

Omowunmi Sadik

Photograph of Omowunmi Sadik.

Professor, Department of Chemistry
Phone: 607-777-4132
Email: osadik@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 708
Website: Omowunmi Sadik Website

 

Chuan-Jian Zhong

Photograph of Chuan-Jian Zhong.

Professor, Department of Chemistry
Phone: 607-777-4605
Email: cjzong@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 713
Website: Chuan-Jian Zhong Website

 

Jiye Fang

Photograph of Jiye Fang.

Professor, Department of Chemistry
Phone: 607-777-3752
Email: jfang@binghamton.edu
Office: S2 G33
Website: Jiye Fang Website

Last Updated: 10/6/16