President's Report Masthead
June 30, 2013
Alumni Leaders Conference held in April

The 200 attendees at the University's first-ever Alumni Leaders Conference learned about all aspects of the University from people in the know during the April conference.

Alumni Leaders Conference held in April

About 200 of Binghamton University’s most closely engaged alumni returned to campus for the inaugural Alumni Leaders Conference, April 26-27. The Alumni Association wanted to inform graduates about the Binghamton University of today, its future opportunities and challenges, and how alumni can be drivers of the University’s success. The goals were to inspire alumni volunteers to become even further involved and encourage their peers to be engaged. 

The conference culminated with the Alumni Association Special Recognition Awards Ceremony, attended by more than 200 alumni, friends and campus partners. Sheldon Goldfarb ’73 received the Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus/a Award for his accomplishments as an attorney and supporter of the University; Donna Lupardo, MA ’83, received the Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumnus/a Award for Public Service or Contribution to Public Affairs for her support of the University as a New York State Assemblywoman; Arel Moodie ’05 received the Lois B. DeFleur Distinguished Young Alumnus/a Award for his work as a motivational speaker and author; and Hakeem Jeffries ’92, the first Binghamton University graduate elected to the U.S. Congress, was the featured speaker at the ceremony.

In conjunction with campus partners, the Alumni Association also awarded the inaugural Medal of Distinguished Service to the following alumni in recognition of their tireless volunteer efforts on behalf of the University and their notable accomplishments in their respective careers: Richard L. Alpern, Esq. ’69; Jenny N. Barbee ’07, MS ’09; Daniel R. Black ’94; Elizabeth Kay Boland ’79, MS ’82; Bruce Cameron, MAT ’88; Howard B. Eisen ’87; Carl T. Ernstrom ’61; Dr. Joseph M. Kolly ’88; Elaine M. Miller, MA ’83; Donald A. Mones ’85; Dr. Hugo J. J. Uyttenhove, MS ’75, PhD ’78; and Virginia P. Walker, MSW ’12.