MINUTES OF FACULTY SENATE MEETING September 29 2020

The second Faculty Senate meeting of the 2020-2021 academic year was called to order by Assoc. Librarian Jill Dixon, Faculty Senate chair, at 11:48 am via Zoom.

1. Minutes

Minutes from September 1, 2020 meeting were approved.

2. Obituary Notices

Chair Dixon notified the body that Prof. Emeritus Peter Donovick, Psychology, passed away. Chair Dixon asked for a moment of silence to remember our colleague.

3. Curriculum

a. Geology Licensing

Prof. Sara Reiter, School of Management, noted that this has been approved by FSEC. Geology is not changing their program but getting licensed with New York State so it will be easier for students to apply for the geology licensing exams if they decide to go in that professional direction.

Prof. Richard Naslund, Geology, noted that New York State has just moved to require geologists to have a license. Our graduates need to take the test and get their license if they want to practice geology. We need approval to be a licensed educator.

Motion is to approve the Geology licensing as proposed. After no discussion, it was approved with 69 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstention via a vote on Zoom.

4. New Business

a. Micro-Credentials joint committee

Prof. Sara Reiter, School of Management, noted that the policy for micro-credentials was approved in May 2020. This is the implementation phase by forming the joint committee. The joint committee will be co-chaired by the Director of the Office of Micro-credentials with a faculty co-chair and faculty and administrative members. This committee's work is a continuation of the task force's work on reviewing proposals. The committee will review proposals throughout the entire year.

Prof. Rob Holahan, Geology, asked if the vote was open to everyone on the Zoom call. Chair Dixon reminded that only Senators can vote.

Prof. Alex Feingold, Mathematics, asked for an example of a micro-credential that has been approved. Prof. Reiter noted that so far no micro-credentials for credit have been approved; there are some programs in Watson and Nursing. Prof. Feingold asked if these micro-credentials show on a student's transcript. The micro-credentials must have some association with a career and some type of course/grade accomplishment. We will be involved in giving badges for students who have demonstrated competencies and skills through the Credley system.

Faculty Senate meeting September 29, 2020 Page 2

Prof. Natalija Mijatovic, Art, asked if this program is only available for current students or if is it available for community members. Prof. Reiter responded that many of these micro-credentials can be offered/made available to students, community members, etc. but the decision about this will be made by each school/department.

After no more discussion, the motion to approve the Micro-credentials Joint Committee was put to a vote via Zoom. It was approved by 61 in favor, 0 opposed, and 6 abstentions.

b. Statement in Support of Black Lives Matter

Prof. Scott Craver, chair of FSEC, reported that FSEC produced this statement to show what we should do and can do regarding this matter. This statement emphasizes that this is an issue that intersects every facet of our mission and the well-being of our campus community and that everyone should be treated with fairness and respect. Everything that we do connects with this goal. Faculty governance will make this a top priority and plans to hold a series of town hall meetings to solicit input from the campus community.

The Campus Citizens Review Board structure has been formed. Co-chairs and the selection committee have been designated. A call for applications has been sent out via Dateline with an October 9 deadline. The Campus Citizens Review Board will help our campus body address justice, fairness, and equality.

Prof. Paul Schleuse, Music, asked how this statement will be publicized as this will benefit from being made widely available to students and the campus community. Chair Dixon agreed to publicize this on Dateline and B-Line.

Prof. Aaron Beedle, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, asked when we would hear about the town meetings. Chair Dixon will be consulting with Karen Jones, Vice President for Diversity, Equality, and Inclusion, about the format, etc. We hope to get these scheduled mid-to-late October and early November.

Prof. Myra Sabir, CCPA Human Development, asked if this statement could be sent to all faculty. Chair Dixon agreed to send to Provost Nieman for distribution to all faculty.

Prof. Randy Scholtz, Classical and Near Eastern Studies, stated that we may want to send to all staff and students also. Chair Dixon will handle.

After no discussion, the motion to endorse the Statement in Support of Black Lives Matter was put to a vote via Zoom. It was approved with 62 approved, 0 opposed, and 3 abstentions.

After no more business, the meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm.

Present: Saligrama Agnihothri, Seden Akcinaroglu, Jeffner Allen, Laura Anderson, Nathanael Andrade, Michael Armstrong, Serdar Atav, Aaron Beedle, Christopher Bishop, Kimberly Brimhall, Yulia Bosworth, Sharon Bryant, Subimal Chatterjee, Paul Chairot,

Faculty Senate meeting September 29, 2020 Page 3

Leon Cosler, Scott Craver, Marilynn Desmond, Jill Dixon, Patrick Doyle, Anthony Ephirim-Donkor, Alex Feingold, Nicole Fenty, Mark Fowler, Jeroen Gerritis, Neyda Gilman, Guy German, Jennifer Gordon, Madhusudhan Govindaraju, Norah Henry, Robert Holahan, Dikran Karagueuzian, Clarice Kelleher, Blazo Kovacevic, Jonathan Krasno, Cynthia Marasigan, Katherina Martineau, Richard Mattson, Natalija Mijatovic, Ralph Miller, Richard Naslund, Donald Nieman, Kirsten Prior, Sara Reiter, Myra Sabir, Paul Schleuse, Andrew Scholtz, David Schuster, Thomas Sinclair, Antonio Sobejano-Moran, John Starks, Harvey Stenger, Ozlem Tonguc, Elizabeth Tucker, Ruth Van Dyke, Andrew Walkling, Bruce White, Wei Xiao, Sarah Young, Yan Zhang

Excused: Zhongfei Zhang

Absent: Nancy Applebaum, Allan Arkush, Anne Bailey, John Baust, Ana Maria Candela,

Hwan-Sik Choi, Sung Chung, Leon Ciu, Stephen Capobianco, Sidney Dement, Lois Einhorn, Salvador Fajardo, Thomas Glave, Kevin Hatch, Khaleel James, Anja Karanein, Anushree Karkhanis, Michael Lawler, Alistair Lees, Ronald Miles, Nagendar Nagarur, Joshua Reno, Kevin Santiago Valles, David Wilson, Michelle

Withers, Lijun Yin, John Zilvinskis