Below is the current and suggested policy for non-TT faculty on dissertation committees. See in particular the *italics*. Thank you!

CURRENT POLICY:

https://www.binghamton.edu/grad-school/resources/policies-procedures/manual/policies-doctora I.html#203

Only faculty with the formal rank of assistant, associate or full professor in an academic department offering advanced degrees may serve as members of graduate student dissertation committee. The Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School may approve exceptions to these restrictions in specific cases. Requests will not be considered without submission of a current curriculum vita and letters of endorsement from the chair or graduate director of the department offering the advanced degree or the dean of the school. Upon such approval, individuals who are not members of the graduate faculty may serve as members, but not as faculty advisors or chairs of graduate student dissertation committee.

NEWLY APPROVED POLICY:

For non-clinical doctoral programs, only faculty with the formal rank of assistant, associate or full professor in an academic department offering advanced degrees may serve as members or chairs of a graduate student dissertation committee, or serve as faculty advisors. *For clinical doctoral programs, faculty with the formal rank of assistant, associate or full professor, and, in addition, non-tenure track faculty with the formal rank of Clinical Assistant, Clinical Associate, or Clinical Full Professor in an academic department offering advanced degrees may serve as faculty advisors.* The Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School may approve exceptions to both of these restrictions in specific cases. Requests will not be considered without submission of a current curriculum vita and letters of endorsement from the chair or graduate director of the department offering the advanced degree or the dean of the school. Upon such approval, these individuals who are not members of the graduate faculty may serve as members, but not as faculty advisors or chairs of a graduate student dissertation committee.