MINUTES OF FULL FACULTY SENATE MEETING March 29, 2022

Professor of Art and Design Natalija Mijatovic, Chair of the Faculty Senate, called the Full Faculty meeting held via Zoom to order at 11:46 am. She welcomed President Harvey G. Stenger and turned the meeting over to him.

President Stenger began his report to the Full Faculty meeting attendees. The presentation can be found at https://www.binghamton.edu/faculty-senate/docs/12-7-2021/binghamton-university-full-faculty-sept-21.pdf.

Chair Mijatovic asked if the 17% increase in international applications is in comparison to last year. President Stenger confirmed that 17% is compared to last year.

After no further questions, the Full Faculty meeting was adjourned.

The third Faculty Senate meeting of the 2021-2022 academic year was called to order by Chair Mijatovic at 12:13 pm.

1. Minutes

Minutes from the December 7, 2021 meeting were approved.

2. Obituary Notices

Chair Mijatovic notified the body that Prof. Emeritus Rifa'at Abou-El-Haj, History, Prof. Emeritus Frank Newman, English, and Prof. Nadia Rubaii, Public Administration and codirector of I-GMAP passed away. Chair Mijatovic asked for a moment of silence to remember these colleagues.

3. Approval of Annual Reports for 2020-2021 Faculty Senate standing committees

Chair Mijatovic noted that the 2020-2021 annual reports can be found within the Senate meeting agenda online. She presented a summary of all the reports that met last year.

Chair Mijatovic noted that three committee reports – University Calendar, Committee on Committees, and Evaluation Coordinating Committee – will be presented at a future Senate meeting.

A motion was made and seconded to approve receipt of the annual reports. After no further discussion, it was approved via virtual vote with 53 in favor, no opposition, and 2 abstentions.

4. Changes to Graduate Student Advising Policy

Interim Dean Gretchen Mahler announced two changes to the graduate student advising policy which include: non-TT advising in master's committees and non-TT faculty in doctoral committees. She noted that the policies have not gone into effect yet but will be placed in the Bulletin for fall '22.

Faculty Senate meeting March 29, 2022 Page 2

Interim Dean Mahler asked if there were any questions regarding the first policy (non-TT advising in master's committees).

Chair Mijatovic asked if this applies to both full-time and part-time non-tenure-track faculty. Interim Dean Mahler noted if there was a part-time person that wanted to be evaluated, they would evaluate that package if there was support from the department and the dean's office.

Prof. Naslund, Geological Sciences and Environmental Studies asked a question on how this applies to emeritus professors. Interim Dean Mahler responded that this is already a part of the policy.

Prof. Walkling, Theatre, clarified that this is a blanket approval for an individual for three years so that the individual can be on multiple committees. Interim Dean Mahler confirmed that it would be a blanket three-year approval. She added that if a master's student took longer than three years to finish, there would be a need for renewal.

Interim Dean Mahler then asked if there were any questions regarding the second policy (doctoral advising policy).

Prof. Henry, Geography, mentioned that the individuals who would be potentially approved are faculty but if you look at the master's advising policy it is noted as individuals, which could mean anyone, and was that the intent? Interim Dean Mahler noted it should be written as faculty members. She added that she will make this change to the policy and will ask for approval at the next Graduate Council meeting.

Lastly, Interim Dean Mahler noted that the senators can contact her if they have any further questions.

Chair Mijatovic thanked Interim Dean Mahler for the information.

After no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:27 pm.

Present:

Serdar Atav, Jane Bear-Lehman, Aaron Beedle, Megan Benson, Kim Brimhall, Scott Craver, Dina Danon, Jeremy B. Dibbell, Anthony Ephirim-Donkor, Alex J. Feingold, Jakob Feinig, Nicole Fenty, Mark Fowler, Rodney Gabel, Neyda Gilman, Thomas Goodheart, Madhusudhan Govindaraju, Kevin M. Hatch, Norah F. Henry, Robert Holahan, Mattias Iser, Wei-Cheng Lee, Alistair Lees, Cynthia Marasigan, Katherine Martineau, Richard E. Mattson, Marcin Mazur, Robert Micklus, Natalija Mijatovic, Ralph Miller, Candace A. Mulcahy, Richard Naslund, Donald G. Nieman, Tomonari Nishikawa (*rep. for Kenneth White*), Chang Hee Park, Sara Reiter, Hiroki Sayama, James Sobel, John Starks, Harvey G. Stenger, Elizabeth Tucker, Andrew Walkling, Wei Xiao, Sarah Young, John Zilvinskis

Faculty Senate meeting March 29, 2022 Page 3

Excused: Ariana Gerstein, Richard MacKenney, Thomas Sinclair, Ozlem Tonguc, Thomas

Wilson, Harald Zils

Absent: Nathanael Andrade, Anne Bailey, Frederick Bentley, Tracy Brooks, David Brown,

Ana Maria Candela, Subimal Chatterjee, Nikolay Dimitrov, Salvador Fajardo, Guy German, Robert E. Guay, Joel Harder, Anushree Karkhanis, Anja Karnein, Clarice Kelleher, Jonathan Krasno, John Kuhn, Michael Lawler, Ronald Miles, Vladimir Miscovic, Nagendra Nagarur, Kevin Santiago Valles, Jeffrey W. Schertzer, Tarek Shamma, Timothy Singler, Antonio Sobejano-Moran, Lisa Tessman, Ruth

VanDyke, Michelle Withers, Lijun Yin, Zhongfei Zhang