Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Binghamton University’s Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (CEMERS) is an organized research unit that coordinates and promotes scholarship in medieval and early modern studies in association with a range of departments and programs on campus. The Center organizes interdisciplinary conferences, lecture series, and workshops and administers undergraduate and graduate programs in Medieval and Early Modern Studies.

CEMERS and the Medieval/Early Modern Studies programs are administered by a director (three-year term, renewable) and a council (two-year term) appointed by the director. The graduate students' Medieval and Renaissance Group (MRG) organizes activities and appoints a representative to the CEMERS Council. Through its Research Associates program, CEMERS invites independent scholars and faculty from neighboring institutions to participate in the life of the Center and to access the University’s scholarly resources.

To request the status of a CEMERS Research Associate, please submit a letter to CEMERS@binghamton.edu. Please include your Curriculum Vitae as an attachment.

CEMERS History

Founded in 1966, CEMERS initially built its international reputation on its contributions to interdisciplinary research on the European Middle Ages and early Renaissance. The Center organized the first of many conferences in 1967. In 1975, CEMERS started publishing the interdisciplinary journal Mediaevalia, which continues to enjoy a circulation world-wide. In 1977, with the support of the National Endowment for the Humanities, it established the Medieval Studies Program for undergraduates. A Graduate Certificate Program in Medieval Studies was established shortly thereafter.

CEMERS Directors

  • Aldo Bernardo & Bernard Huppé, 1966-1973
  • François Boucher & Bernard Huppé, 1973-1975
  • James Marrow & Paul Szarmach, 1975-1976
  • Paul Szarmach, 1976-1986 & 1988-1992
  • Francis X. Newman, 1977-1978 (Acting Director)
  • Robin Oggins, 1986–1988 and 1992-1995
  • Charles Burroughs, 1995-2003
  • Sandro Sticca, 2003-2006
  • Karen-edis Barzman, 2006–2011
  • Marilynn Desmond, 2011-2016
  • Olivia Holmes, 2017- 2019
  • Tina Chronopoulos & Elizabeth Casteen, 2019 - 2020 (Acting Directors)
  • Olivia Holmes, 2020 - present