Paul Chiarot
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Microfluidics, eectrohydrodynamics, additive manufacturing, multiphase flows

Junghyun Cho
Thin films and coatings, processing science, microstructure design of ceramics and metals, characterization

Peter Huang
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Micro/nanofluidics, biofluidics, cellular manipulations, transport phenomena

Changhong Ke
Experimental nanomechanics, nanoscale adhesion and interfaces, and bio-inspired materials, nanocomposites, NEMS

Roy McGrann
Associate Professor
Mechanical engineering design, computer-aided engineering, project management, engineering education

Ron Miles
Distinguished Professor 
Vibrations, acoustics, fatigue, noise, biomechanics, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS)

Bruce Murray
Professor and Department Chair
Transport phenomena, computational modeling, thermal management

Seungbae Park
Reliability of small-scale systems, advanced packaging solution, deformation and structural failure analysis

James Pitarresi
Distinguished Teaching Professor  and Vice Provost and Executive Director Center for Learning and Teaching
Computational mechanics, vibration modeling and testing, opto-mechanical techniques, electronic packaging

Mir Jalil Razavi
Assistant Professor
Solid mechanics, biomechanics, mechanics of soft/biomaterials, fracture and fatigue mechanics

Bahgat Sammakia
Vice President for Research at Binghamton University
Distinguished SUNY Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Founding Director of S3IP, a New York State Center of Excellence, Binghamton University
Director of the Center for Heterogeneous Integration Research in Packaging (CHIRP) at Binghamton University

Scott Schiffres
Assistant Professor
Nano/micro energy transport, heat transfer, additive manufacturing

Colin Selleck

Tim Singler
Interfacial fluid dynamics, wetting physics, transport phenomena, deposition of functional materials

Sherry Towfighian
Associate Professor
MEMS, mechanical vibration, linear and nonlinear dynamics, energy harvesting, micromirrors for optical applications

Xin Yong
Associate Professor
Computational modeling and simulations, micro- and nanofluidics, stimuli-responsive soft materials, interfacial phenomena

Kaiyan Yu
Assistant Professor
Dynamic systems and control, autonomous robotic systems and control, motion planning and control, nano/micro particles control and manipulation

Kirill Zaychik
Lecturer/Research Professor

Pu Zhang
Assistant Professor
Solid mechanics, composites and metamaterials, additive manufacturing

Guangwen Zhou
Gas-surface chemistry and physics, epitaxial growth of thin films, nanostructured materials and characterization

Emeritus Faculty

Frank Cardullo
Professor Emeritus
Flight simulation, vehicle dynamics, man-machine systems

John Fillo

Adjunct Faculty

Arad Azizi 

Morteza Haji Bagheri 

Joe Galati

Jason Gilbert   

Research Faculty

Leila Choobineh

Fatemeh Hejripour Rafsanjani

Dorel Homentcovschi

Congrui Grace Jin

Liang Liu

Srikanth Rangarajan

Gamal Refai-Ahmed


Robert J. Kaub
Mechanical Technician

Elizabeth Kucharek
Senior Assistant to the Chair

Bridget Tiska                                    
Graduate Administrative Assistant

Karen Williams
Department Administrative Assistant

Professional and Academic Advisors

A team of people within the department and across the campus guides students in the development of their intellectual life and prepares them to contribute constructively to a world that is rapidly changing and increasingly interdependent.

Within the Department
Within the School

Industrial Advisory Board

Joseph Kolly '88, Board Chair
Chief Scientist
NHTSA National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Shari Sterling
Director, Advanced Manufacturing Technology
Lockheed-Martin Corporation
Koen Gieskes 
VP for Engineering and Research
Universal Instruments Corporation
Chris Kopec '96
Facilities Group Manager
McFarland Johnson

Stephan Meschter, MS '87, PhD '01
Staff Design Engineer
BAE Systems
Tony Tsang, MS '11
General Manager
Pumpman – Pump Systems (Federal Pump & Alyan Pump)
Liang Yin, MS '03, PhD '05
Electronic Packaging Engineer
GE Global Research

E. Duane Daddis, Jr. PE, LEED, AP '88
Associate Director of Engineering, Applied Rooftop Products
Carrier North America HVAC Commercial Systems

Mechanical Engineering Student Advisory Committee (MESAC)

Contact MESAC:  

Lauren Boston
Thomas Hurley
Sean Dolan
Jacob Goodman
Colin Knarich
Jefferson Lamountain
Kyle Bulko
Casey Anderson  
Baiyina (Bee) Richardson
Zachary Schinasi

Student groups

There are a number of honor societies and student organizations that represent various engineering and computer science disciplines in which Watson College students can participate.